my profile | search | faq | forum home
  next oldest topic   next newest topic
»  Planet KKND 2   » General Discussions   » Impressions about the game (KKND2)

UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Impressions about the game (KKND2)
EvolvedHorse
Member # 4013

Rate Member

posted August 17, 2024 13:30     Profile for EvolvedHorse     Send New Private Message   Edit/Delete Post   Reply With Quote
Hello! I am the new weirdo on the block and I just recently ran into this place. It is great to notice there is still a fansite for the KKND franchise after all these years.

I used to play this game with my father when I was a kid. I recently decided to archive my old videogame collection, ripping it and saving it to hard drive storage. Upon archiving KKND2 I had nostalgia bite me in the ass and I started playing again. It has been more than 20 years since I last played, but I still remembered the early Survivor missions quite well.

I think it might be a good thing to get the ball rolling if there is anybody left in this forum, so I think I will share some of my impressions of the game.

First of all, I love the fact the technology tree in KKND2 is so simple to navigate. In order to build advanced versions of something, you just upgrade the building that produces that something. No nonsense about advancing "eras" or needing a bunch of different buildings in which you have to develop a technology each.

Secondly, I like the fact most units in the game don't become really obsolete. You may be deploying gigantic Level 5 war machines, but there are still legitimate uses for Level 1 infantry. This is because units from different levels fill different strategic niches. It is not that a level 2 flamethrowing guy is better than a grenade throwing guy, but they achieve different things.